Disable ‘Reopen windows when logging back in’

Disable ‘Reopen windows when logging back in’

To permanently disable ‘Reopen windows when logging back in,’ you can use the following command:

defaults write com.apple.loginwindow TALLogoutSavesState -bool false

This will effectively disable ‘Reopen windows when logging back in,’ though the checkbox will still be ticked. However, this switch resets itself every time on reboot. To prevent this from happening, again we remove write permissions on the file containing the option:

chmod a-w ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist

This should do it. But there’s where OS X gets nasty. When it can’t write to this file, it will try to put the write permissions back itself. The solution is to change the owner to root, effectively preventing anyone (but root) from changing permissions on the file:

sudo chown root ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist

To reverse this, simply issue the following commands:

sudo chown $USER ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist
chmod a+w ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist
defaults write com.apple.loginwindow TALLogoutSavesState -bool true

Source: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20110918051930924
By: SeySayux

Advertisements